Quote for the Day #9 – Determination and The Truman Show

Last night I was watching “The Truman Show” starring Jim Carrey.
I randomly threw it on to play in the background.
As I was working I could hear the movie and caught one moment in the film which I thought was an exciting concept I thought I would share it with you.

Just a bit of background about the story.

“The Truman Show” (1998 Directed by Peter Weir) is a film which follows Truman Burbank (Carrey). A man who was born into a world that was created for him by a television show run by its creator Christof (Ed Harris). Unaware that he lives his life in front of millions of viewers Truman becomes uneasy and begins to long for more. As he sets out to travel and get away from his job and lifestyle, Truman realises the obstacles getting in his way seem to become more and more unusual, sparking the realisation that something is afoot.

As Truman is reaching the brink of discovering the truth, the tv show creator becomes equally determined to hold Truman back as long as possible.
Here is what he had to say.

Christof: “If his was more than just a vague ambition, if he was absolutely determined to discover the truth, there’s no way we could prevent him.” 

~ Quote from “The Truman Show” written by Andrew Niccol

I think that this is an exciting concept for anyone who wants to be someone or do something. I know that in itself seems vague, but get past the cheesiness and really think about it. If you REALLY wants something and are determined enough to go for it, what’s stopping you? I make up reasons not to do things all the time, but they aren’t really obstacles, just opportunities to avoid doing something. But when I really want something, it’s up to me to make it happen.

I am making a new short film, ‘Beehive’. It’s my first one out of film school and initially I have found it hard to get going. Then it occurred to me that at film school I made a new project every month or two. I’ve been out of school over a year and haven’t made one! (That being said I’ve helped others make theirs.)

I found I didn’t really have any excuses for not starting, I knew how to, I just didn’t have an assessment date and an allocated crew or budget supplied. It just means now I have to get those myself.

So now I am.

I hope that todays quote has helped inspire you as it has me.

If you liked this post and would like to see more like it, please follow/like my Facebook Fan page. I keep it up to date with all the projects I am working on and promote opportunities for others when I hear of them.

One thought on “Quote for the Day #9 – Determination and The Truman Show

Leave a comment