Quote For The Day #10 – A Crew is A Family with Drew Barrymore and Robert Bresson

When making a film your mind is everywhere at once, trying to attend to every small detail to ensure that the film is amazing. It can be quite exhausting.
That is why you find yourself a team of people and delegate. Which, when you come from a film school background like myself, you aren’t accustomed to as you are used to doing everything yourself. Writer, producer, director, cinematographer (sometimes actor or extra) and editor – you name it!

Writing and storyboarding 'Beehive'So when it came to making my first film out of film school, ‘Beehive’, I had a bit more experience and know-how to ensure I avoided the mistakes that I made while in film school.

I’d spent the last year working on other productions and the moment I stepped onto a set where everyone was doing their own role (and owning it) felt like a wave of bliss had hit me. So my first call of action after writing the script was to surround myself with a good strong team.

I’d like to say that letting my little baby go into the hands of others was an easy transition. But it was much harder than I thought. All of a sudden my vision was our vision and I had to trust that we were all working toward the same goal and putting in blood, sweat and tears to make it happen.

Drew Barrymore and Steven Spielberg

I know that it will be fine. I just had to learn to let go, because smothering my team wasn’t giving them a chance to let them bring their own creativity to the table. Which is the most exciting part of having unique individuals – they each bring something new to the project that one person could never dream of.

I have a big soft spot for Steven Spielbergs ‘E.T.’
I recently purchased the blu ray version with the original theatrical release, none of the CGI work that had been added some years ago. I felt all gooey on the inside watching the same film as I had when I was small. It was wonderful.

“When I did ‘E.T.,’ it sort of solidified the only family I know are these film crews. These gypsies. These filmmakers. That was the solidification and the clicking revelations of ‘This is what I want to do with my life and this is where I’m going to survive.’ 

– Drew Barrymore. Actress and Producer

Robert BressonContinuing with the theme of team work and the importance of bringing in people with their own experiences, I couldn’t go past this poetic quote that really shows the filmmaking process.

My movie is born first in my head, dies on paper; is resuscitated by the living persons and real objects I use, which are killed on film but, placed in a certain order and projected on to a screen, come to life again like flowers in water.

– Robert Bresson (1901 – 1999). French Film Director

Ehran EdwardsIf you liked this post please ‘LIKE’ my Facebook Fan page and ‘FOLLOW’ my blog. I keep them up to date with; projects that I’m involved in, reviews & tutorials and share interesting tid-bits to make you smile.

“With my head in the stars, a twinkle in my eye and a love for cinema and nostalgia, filmmaking is a fun, creative way for me to express myself.” – Ehran Edwards

Leave a Reply

