1 year, 100 posts and 100 likes!

Woohoo! I am thrilled to announce I have written 100 blog posts! (and this one makes 101)
On top of that, I have had over 6000 views and have just hit 100 likes for various posts!
Thanks to everyone for reading so far. I have been so pleased with how my blog has been going since I started writing 1 year ago.

Throughout this post I am going to link some of my favourite past post. Check them out!

1 Year, 100 Posts and 100 likes: Day 1

When I first started out I was merely expressing my journey as I started out as a filmmaker, having graduated from film school, beginning a new career as a freelancer.

At first it seemed like such a daunting thing, life after film school. Is there one?

Shortly after this I quit my hospitality job and started to look for opportunities. It wasn’t hard finding work, there are so many ads for work experience on Star Now or Screen Hub.

I worked on a few short films, did an internship with The Australian Film Festival and shot a music video for Brendan Maclean. I loved all the experience I was getting, but I was exhausted and needed to eat! It seemed it was the paid work that was eluding me.

I sought out a few other cinematographers to find out what I should do. It was then that I met Nicola Daley, who sat down over a cup of tea and gave me some advice (see here)

I then embraced the idea of working as a videographer and shooting corporate videos and weddings. I’ve now shot over 20 weddings and have done work for Mayne Publications, Austereo, Sony and United Voice.

After what felt like an eternity the work began to roll in. Not all paid, but a healthy balance of volunteer and paid. Thank goodness!

Since then I have now shot a season of Amazing Singer Australia, worked as a Camera assist on numerous productions (in particular web series ‘In Transit‘ which  has just launched), as well as a whole range of short films, music videospress junkets, interviews and tv pilots.

My blog has developed from an insight into my experiences as a filmmaker into a site where I try to help others by posting about the lessons I learn on set as well as teaching new gear as I come across it. Never in my wildest dreams did I think I would become addicted to learning new gear to share with others – FOR FUN! I love it.
On top of that, I am so happy to have met so many new people along the way.

Whether you are new to my blog, or you’ve been with me for a while, I hope that I can continue to share, teach and motivate you all for the next 100 and more posts to come.

If you liked this post and would like to see more like it, please follow/like my Facebook Fan page. I keep it up to date with all the projects I am working on and promote opportunities for others when I hear of them.

Leave a Reply

