Quote for the Day #5 – Filmmaking with Steven Spielberg

I’ve been pretty excited about the release of E.T. The Extra Terrestrial on Blu-ray. Which is funny, because I already have it on DVD. However, this release will be with the original version of the film, which I grew up with.

Which makes me very happy indeed.

So I thought I would share some insights from Steven Spielberg, who has captivated me for years with his early works filled with imagination, youth and magic.

Here is his view on filmmaking.

“I had no choice. It was just something that happened. I was always looking for ways to act out, and I got a camera and it acted out for me.”
~ Steven Spielberg

As an added touch, here’s a short quote from the film.

Elliot: “He’s a man from outer space and we’re taking him to his spaceship.” 
Greg: “Well, can’t he just beam up?” 
Elliot: “This is *reality*, Greg.”
~ E.T. The Extra Terrestrial

Leave a Reply

