You never know when some random filming could be your next audition tape.

This week I have been asked to meet with a bride who is looking for a videographer. If all goes well I will be filming a pre-wedding ceremony with a large group of women celebrating with music and dance. After meeting the bride, I hope of course to have a clearer idea of what the ceremony entails.

She asked me to send her examples of my wedding work. Having only shot traditional ceremonies I explained that none of that footage would really be similar to what she is asking me to film.

In turn I mentioned that I had recently filmed a few live bands. I had just been doing this for fun and to share with the bands as I am a friend of theirs. The bride thought this was a great idea. So, my random videos I’ve been filming of my friends bands now seem to be my auditioning reel for my next job. Who’d have thought! So now I have to cram in some editing over the next few nights to make a trailer/show reel of the performances.

When I studied Media Production in Canberra, we had to film live bands weekly. I learned then a very important lesson, “you should always assume you are on”. Ringing true now, that some fun filming may be more important that I had imagined.

I hope that I get the position, it sounds like a wonderful event. I’ll keep you posted on how it goes.

3 thoughts on “You never know when some random filming could be your next audition tape.

Leave a Reply

