To go for a Prime or Zoom lens kit

I woke up this morning with a desire to read up about lenses.

This is becoming some-what of a habit of mine now which I thoroughly am pleased about.

I feel like while I was at film school I lacked an interest in doing extra reading about cameras and lenses and such. A lack of free time didn’t help and the inability to put the knowledge into practice as I didn’t have my own camera.

Now out of school I have a new Canon 5D Mark II and I LOVE IT!!! SInce buying it I have found myself falling in love (again) with cameras, lenses and gear. 2 hours has passed seamlessly as I have bee trying to figure out whether I will go in a zoom lens kit direction or work with primes. I love working with primes. Something about them makes me feel that the choice of that lens is very specific, not just slightly adjusting a zoom to fit what you like. Which is very convenient of course but I feel that primes push me to understand my lens choices more… and I like that. However, there are some very nice zooms out there.

I currently have:

Canon EF 24 – 105 f4.0L IS USM

Canon EF 50 f1.4 USM

 

I’m pretty happy with these so far, though I am constantly battling on whether I should get the Canon EF 24-70 f2.8L USM
Ahhh!

 

Anyway, at this point my kit has no direction and I would love some suggestions. Of course, I have read reviews online, but would love some feedback from people who know what they are on about.

 

Leave a Reply

